Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014
- American FactFinder
Search data from the American Community Survey, American Housing Survey, Annual Economic Surveys, Decennial Census, Economic Census, EEO Tabulation, Population Estimates Program, and Puerto Rico Community Survey.
- Censtats Database
County, zip code, and metro business patterns.
- U.S. Census Bureau
These resources could help determine target market size for the geographic/market area around Salisbury, MD.
- Salisbury, MD Area Chamber of Commerce
Online source for information on Salisbury and Wicomico County, MD.
- Salisbury University - University Analysis, Reporting & Assessment
For college student population demographic in Salisbury.
- Maryland Department of Business & Economic Development (ChooseMaryland)
Check out the 'Facts & Stats' section for rankings, major employers, demographics, employment, geography, quality of life, economy, taxes, and a snapshot.
- Maryland State Data Center
The Maryland State Data Center (SDC) is an official partner with the U.S. Census Bureau.
What People Watch - What People Buy. Nielsen studies consumers in more than 100 countries to give provide a complete view of trends and habits worldwide. Reports on: Media & Entertainment; Consumers; Global; and Online are often available for free download after providing information about yourself.
- Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan, non-advocacy public opinion polling and demographic research. Topics include: U.S. Politics; Media & News; Social Trends; Religion; Internet & Tech; Hispanics; and Global. The Internet & Tech tab brings you the Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life Project, which has the latest research and infographics on social media, mobile, and other technology user information.
The following selected resources are located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Blackwell Library. These resources remain in the library for all patrons to use.
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What?
Call Number: HA203 .A635 2011
Publication Date: 2011
"...Based on unpublished data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2011 Consumer Expenditure Survey—you can’t get this data online—Household Spending examines how much American households spend on hundreds of products and services by the demographics that count: age, income, household type, region of residence, race and Hispanic origin, and educational attainment. The individual products and services are organized into chapters on Apparel; Entertainment; Financial Products; Food and Alcohol; Gifts; Household Operations; Shelter and Utilities; Personal Care, Reading, Education, and Tobacco; and Transportation." - Publisher Website
Community Sourcebook of County Demographics
Call Number: HA203 .S65 2008
Publication Date: 2008
For each state, provides county level data per Population, Race, Age, Households, Families, Median Household Income, Income, Spending Potential Indices. Also provides, business data per county (number of firms, top industry).
Community Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics
Call Number: HA203 .S66 2008
Publication Date: 2008
For each zip code, provides county level data per Population, Race, Age, Households, Families, Median Household Income, Income, Spending Potential Indices. Also provides, business data per county (number of firms, top industry). See 'consumer type' data for top lifestyle and % of households that fit that lifestyle. Tapestry consumer types defined in the front of the book.
Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand, 9th Edition
Call Number: HC110.C6 B47 2012
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
"This book will help determine the best target market for a particular product or service. Data for each product/service includes: average spending, indexed spending, and market share of spending by age, household income, household type, race, region of residence, and educational attainment. Each table is accompanied by test identifying the best and biggest customers, analyzing spending patterns, describing spending trends for the product/service over the past few years and predicting future trends based on the nation's changing demographics." Find this title in the Reference Collection.
To access off campus, you will need to use the Business/Economics database listing through Research Port and login with your 14 digit library barcode and last name, and then search by publication.
Recommended database: Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) - try searching 'consumers' AND '[your industry name]' OR '[NAICS Code]'
The following selected resources can be useful for demographic information:
- Advertising Age (via EBSCOhost's Business Source Premier)
This link should take you directly to the page to search Advertising Age if you are on campus. Search terms might include: demographics, baby boom generation, customers, or the name of a product/service.
- The American Marketplace (via LexisNexis Academic)
To access and search this publication: Select 'Sources' from the toolbar on the left side of the page and then 'Find Sources.' Type 'American Marketplace' into the keyword search box and then click the red box 'Find Sources.' Check the box next to 'The American Marketplace' and then click the box 'OK - Continue.' Enter keywords into the 'Search Terms' box and then click the red box 'Search.'
Search terms might include: spending trends, consumers, teenagers, generation X, etc. OR a product or service name such as bicycles, weddings, household services, etc.
Mondays 1-3pm (Perdue 3rd floor faculty area)
Tuesdays 10am-noon (Perdue 2nd floor)
Blackwell Library, Room 128